facebook icon twitter icon rss icon
Text: Follow Us
Text: Working to win quality, affordable health care for all Marylanders

Meet our board of directors

The board of directors provides broad oversight of the activities of the MCHIEF and fiscal oversight through regular reports on the budget.  Directors include representatives of our key constituencies and meet quarterly.

Maryland Citizens’ Health Initiative Education Fund, Inc.

President– Vincent DeMarco
Vice President
–Sandra Ferguson, United Methodist Church
General Counsel/Secretary/Treasurer
– Richard Flax, Esquire 
Founder –
Peter Beilenson
Emeritus Board Member – Joel Rabin

Mary Beachley, Maryland Nurses Association
Anna Davis, Advocates for Children and Youth
Mark Derbyshire, Park Moving and Storage
Dr. Darrell Gaskin, Professor, University of Maryland
Toby Gordon, Johns Hopkins School of Business
Jamal Lee, Breasia Productions
Bishop Douglas Miles, Interdenominational Ministerial Alliance
Glenn Schneider, Horizon Foundation
Ed Smith, Health Action Forum of Prince George’s County
Isazetta Spikes, Maryland Chapter, NAACP
Susan Talbott, RN MA MBA, Community and health activist
Elder Doug Wilson, Kingdom Life Church


The Maryland Citizens’ Health Initiative, Inc. is a sister organization of our Education Fund. It is a 501(c)(4) organization and takes action on important issues relating to our shared goal of expanding access to quality, affordable health care. This board also includes representatives of our key constituencies and meets quarterly.

Maryland Citizens’ Health Initiative, Inc.

President – Vincent DeMarco
Vice President
–Bishop Larry Lee Thomas, United Black Clergy of Anne Arundel County
General Counsel/Secretary/Treasurer
– Richard Flax, Esquire
Founder –
Peter Beilenson
Emeritus Board Member – Joel Rabin

Peg Ensminger, JHU Bloomberg School of Public Health
Sandra Ferguson, United Methodist Church
Dr. Nelson Goodman
Hank Greenberg, AARP Maryland
Rev. Lee Hudson, Lutheran Office on Public Policy
Pat Lippold, 1199 SEIU Health Care Workers East
Len Lucchi, O’Malley, Miles, Nylen & Gilmore
Glenn Schneider, Howard County Health Department